Alabama 4-H Foundation Invests in the Future


Two Lee County Students Awarded



The Alabama 4-H Foundation recently awarded 35 scholarships in the amount of $1,000 to graduating 4-H members in 2022. Two $1,500 honorary scholarships were also awarded. These scholarships can be used for any post-secondary education during the 2022–2023 academic year — including colleges, universities, community colleges or trade schools.

“The Alabama 4-H Foundation is committed to seeing young people succeed, and there is no better way to display this kind of commitment than through scholarship support,” said Seth Tuttle, development officer for the Alabama 4-H Foundation. “We’re honored to have awarded 35 scholarships to 4-H’ers from all across our great state. It is our goal to help these young people continue on their life journey and represent the values of Alabama 4-H.”

Applications were accepted online through March 1. As part of the application process, students were required to submit a resume, a letter of recommendation and their 4-H story.

Scholarship Recipients

The following 4-H members were awarded an Alabama 4-H Foundation Scholarship:

• Alexis Steele, Limestone County

• Anais Shelley, Henry County

• Anna Rios, Marengo County

• Anna-Kathryn Robinson, Conecuh County

• Blair Wyrosdick, Coffee County

• Blake Harris, Tallapoosa County

• Briley Newman, Pickens County

• Cami Cleveland, Etowah County

• Caymen Barron, Talladega County

• Colton Cook, Tallapoosa County

• Courtney Roberts, Calhoun County

• Emily Strickland, Coffee County

• Hannah Yeager, Chambers County

• Hattin Berryman, Colbert County

• Holly Johnson, Clay County

• Hunter Garland, Washington County

• Hunter Watson, Cherokee County

• Jheran Turner, Pike County

• John Wesley Garris, Talladega County

• Josie Jones, Lawrence County

• Katie Jett, Lawrence County

• Kristen Walker, Lauderdale County

• Leah Kate Owens, Washington County

• Lindy Southers, DeKalb County

• Malik Cooper, Monroe County

• Marcel van der Wel, Marshall County

• Marie Downey, Autauga County

• Natalie Ruha, Shelby County

• Neely Stewart, Lee County

• Regan Williams, Clarke County

• Ruth Johnson, Morgan County

• Sierra Bennett, Etowah County

• Sierra Ratcliff, Marengo County

• Terry King, II, Dallas County

• Victoria Thompson, Lee County.

Additional awards include the Barbara D. Thorne 4-H Endowment, awarded to Willow Sayles of Etowah County and the Beth and Dr. Thomas Elliott 4-H Endowed Scholarship, awarded to Suzanne Feist of Winston County. Each of these scholarships totaled $1,500.

“The youth that receive Foundation scholarships represent the breadth and scope of the skills, passions and possibilities of our state’s young people,” said Molly Gregg, the Alabama Cooperative Extension System assistant director for Alabama 4-H. “Investment in our young people with time, finances and care sets the stage for a better and stronger Alabama that is ready to adapt to meet the challenges and opportunities of our collective future.”


4-H invites scholarship winners and their parents/guardians to attend 4-H Competitive Events Day June 24 to receive formal recognition.

4-H would also like to recognize 4-H scholarship recipients at high school scholarship days. For questions about scheduling a recognition, contact Nancy Alexander at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here