AHSAA names former AU football player as new executive director

Pictured left to right are the Observer's D. Mark Mitchell, Briggs and Savarese, former executive director of AHSAA.

On the Mark
By D. Mark Mitchell

Alvin Briggs is the new Executive Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Association, the Central Board of Control announced Monday. Central Board of Control President, Van Phillips, introduced Briggs in a Monday morning press conference at the headquarters in Montgomery.

The search committee, made up of seven members of the CBOC, received over 50 applicants to replace former Executive Director Steve Savarese after announcing his retirement in May. Briggs served as associate director the past five years after being hired by Savarese 10 years ago as head of the High School Football Coaches Association. Phillips explained that Briggs’ experience was a key factor in the decision. “He’s been through all the lawsuits with Mr. Savarese. He’s been on Goat Hill with Mr. Savarese. Every difficult decision Mr. Savarese has made through some trying times, Alvin was right there to assist him. One of the board members said Alvin was battle tested and I think that is the perfect phrase for him,” said Phillips during the press conference.

Briggs will become the fifth full time executive director of the AHSAA, following Cliff Harper (1948-1966), Bubba Scott (1966-1990), Dan Washburn (1990-2006) and Savarese (2006-present).

Briggs started on the Greenville varsity football team as a freshman and received a scholarship to play football at Auburn University in the 80’s. He helped lead the Tigers to the 1987 SEC Championship, intercepting nine passes during the season. Briggs started his coaching career as an assistant coach for North Alabama, which lasted 10 years. In 2001, he returned to his hometown to become the head football coach at Greenville High School for the next four years. Briggs left GHS to become head coach at Florence for five seasons.

During the press conference, Savarese said Briggs wanted the executive director job when he interviewed him 10 years ago. “He told me his goal was to have my job in 10 years. It was his dream that came true,” said Savarese.

Briggs graciously accepted the appointment and asked for the help from the entire AHSAA staff. “This job requires the entire staff to work together, or we will fail. I look forward to continuing to work with this incredible staff.” Briggs will take over the job July 1.


Opelika Dixie Youth announced all-stars for the following leagues, Pee-Wee (7-8 year olds), Minors (9-10 year olds)and Ozone (11-12 year olds).

Pee-Wee All Stars:

Charlie Branch, Blaine Bryan, David Collier, Trent Colquitt, Jack Corbit, Bryce Credle, Tucker Greer, Briggs Hutto, Jaxin Johnson, Palmer Lane, Noah Peoples and Parker Risner. Manager: Brandon Hutto, Assistants: TR Risner, David Lane and Andrew Bryan.

State Tournament, July 9 in Troy.

Minor League All-Stars:

Jack Brandon, Brady Capps, Brock Danford, Erick Fernandez, Hunter Harrelson, Cam Johnson, Ashton Keith, KJ Kyles, Jude Nicholson, Grant Speigner, Turner Underwood and Smitty Young. Manager: Manuel Stone. Assistants: Lupe Fernandez and Brandon Danford. District Tournament, June 15 in Auburn.

Ozone Major League All-Stars:

Jack Branch, Will Brandon, Logan Childree, Whit Cooper, Carson Holcey-Billingsly, Pat Neese,, Jacob Paterson, Caleb Peoples, Tyson Prince, Tre Stone, Troy Tidwell and Colton Woodall. Manager: Jamie Cooper. Assistants: Kurt Branch and Nicky Tidwell.

District Tournament, June 18 in Auburn.

D. Mark Mitchell is the sports director at iHeart Media, host of “On the Mark” on Fox Sports The Game 910-1310, Co-chair of the Auburn-Opelika Sports Council, chairman of the Super 7 and Dixie Boys Baseball State Directeor.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here