ARISE Foundation’s annual races to benefit Lee County students and teachers scheduled for Feb. 16

0
353

Special to the
Opelika Observer

The Alliance for Recognition of Innovation in School Excellence Foundation’s annual 5k/1 mile races to benefit teachers and students of Lee County Schools will be held Feb. 16 at the Smiths Station Junior High track field.
ARISE is a nonprofit organization designed to enhance the educational opportunities offered each child by the Lee County School System of Alabama. The organization’s primary function is to raise funds for the purpose of awarding grants to Lee County teachers exhibiting excellence in education.
The 5K will begin at 8 a.m. central/9 a.m. EST with the 1-mile beginning at 9 a.m. central/10 a.m. EST.
If registered by Feb. 1, the cost will be $20 for one race, $30 for two races and $40 for three races (there is a 10.16K bonus run and one must sign up for the 5K to be eligible.) After Feb. 1, one race will be $25, two races will be $40 and three races will be $50.
For a family rate, contact Roger Keel at 334-524-2884 or rkeel@mindspring.com. Each registration comes with an “ARISE and Run” t-shirt to show support for Lee County Schools. There will also be top female and male awards in both the 5K and the 1- mile, which will amount to more than 100 awards.
Sponsorships are also available, with the forms requiring completion by Jan. 31. They can be mailed to Keel at “P.O. Box 545, Smiths Station, Alabama, 36877.” Following are available sponsorship levels:
•Bronze Sponsors – $100 to $500
•Silver Sponsors – $500 to $1,000
•Gold Sponsors – $1,000 and above
Those interested in more information are welcomed to contact Keel by phone or email. The school is located at 1100 Lee Road 298.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here