DeVonta Smith Named ASWA Amateur Athlete of the Year


Contributed by ASWA

After dominating college football last fall, DeVonta Smith has won a final award from his national-championship season at Alabama. 

The former Crimson Tide standout is the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Amateur Athlete of Year. 

Smith won the 2020 Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award as college football’s most outstanding player, and the Biletnikoff Award as the game’s best receiver. 

Selected as the Associated Press Player of the Year, he was the first wide receiver to win the award. 

Smith was also an unanimous All-American selection, named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year and was Alabama’s first recipient of the Paul Hornung Award, as the nation’s most versatile player. 

He is the only receiver in SEC history with multiple career games totaling four or more receiving touchdowns, and holds both the SEC and Alabama career record for receiving touchdowns with 46, topping the previous mark of 31 held by Amari Cooper (2012-14) and Chris Doering of Florida (1992-95). 

Smith’s also the Alabama and SEC all-time receiving yards leader with 3,965.

During the shortened 2020 season due to the coronavirus, he led the nation in receptions (117), receiving touchdowns (23) and receiving yards (1,856), while playing an SEC-only schedule. 

He is the fifth Heisman Trophy winner from the state to be named the amateur athlete of the year since 2009. Previously, there had only been one. 

The 49th annual ASWA awards banquet will be held Sunday in Birmingham, Alabama.

ASWA Amatuer Athlete of the Year:  

2020 DeVonta Smith

2019 Derrick Brown

2018 Casey Mize

2017 Minkah Fitzpatrick

2016 Jonathan Allen

2015 Derrick Henry

2014 Amari Cooper

2013 Jameis Winston

2012 Brooke Pancake

2011 Trent Richardson

2010 Cam Newton

2009 Mark Ingram II

2008 DeWanna Bonner

2007 Pat White

2006 JaMarcus Russell

2005 DeMeco Ryans

2004 Jason Campbell

2003 Philip Rivers

2002 Andree Pickens

2001 Gabe Cross

2000 Gabe Cross

1999 Chris Samuels

1998 Tee Martin

1997 Tim Hudson

1996 Meredith Willard

1995 Ronald McKinnon

1994 Jay Barker

1993 Niesa Johnson

1992 Dee Foster

1991 Tim VanEgmond

1990 Phillip Doyle

1989 Gary Hollingsworth

1988 Derrick Thomas

1987 Mike Turk

1986 Cornelius Bennett

1985 Bo Jackson

1984 Rowdy Gaines

1983 David Magadan

1982 Randy Campbell

1981 Ed Lett

1980 Rowdy Gaines

1979 Joe Cribbs

1978 Reginald King

1977 Ozzie Newsome

1976 Harvey Glance

1975 Leon Douglas

1974 Jerry Pate


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here