Ann Archer Arnall, of Auburn, was among the more than 60 University of Mississippi students to receive a 2022 Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial Medal, the university’s highest academic award.

The honorees were recognized for their achievements on Thursday, April 7, at The Inn at Ole Miss.

Arnall is pursuing a B.A.Ed. in Elementary Education from the School of Education.

The Taylor Medals were established at UM in 1904 by Dr. William A. Taylor of Booneville in memory of his son, an honored 1871 alumnus of the university. The award recognizes no more than 1% of the student body each year.

The University of Mississippi, affectionately known as Ole Miss, is the state’s flagship university. Included in the elite group of R1: Doctoral Universities – Highest Research Activity by the Carnegie Classification, it has a long history of producing leaders in public service, academics and business. Its 16 academic divisions include a major medical school, nationally recognized schools of accountancy, law and pharmacy, and an Honors College acclaimed for a blend of academic rigor, experiential learning and opportunities for community action. Recognized among the nation’s most beautiful, Ole Miss’ main campus is in Oxford, which is routinely acknowledged as one of the country’s best college towns.