Special to the
Opelika Observer

Auburn City Schools is proud of Kathryn Knorr and Jessica Bowlin for both being selected as finalists in the 2020-2021 Alabama Teacher of the Year competition, one of the state’s oldest and most esteemed awards programs!

This year’s “Sweet 16” finalists emerged from a group of more than 140 highly-skilled educators from each district across the state.

Photo submitted to the Opelika Observer Pictured are: Laura Bailey, ACS Career Technical Education Director, Jessica Bowlin, and Dr. Shannon Pignato, Auburn High School Principal

Representing District 2 in both the elementary and secondary categories for this prestigious honor, Knorr (Ogletree Elementary) and Bowlin (Auburn High School) have proven their ability to reach students in the classroom and to engage families to support student achievement at the highest levels.

The pool of outstanding educators will be narrowed down to the top four, and the 2020-2021 Alabama Teacher of the Year will be announced in August.

The overall winner will spend the majority of the school year serving as a full-time ambassador for education and the teaching profession as well as presenting workshops to various groups and participating on the national level.

We celebrate Kathryn and Jessica! ACS is proud to have two candidates in the Alabama Teacher of the Year competition.