Special to the Opelika Observer


The Lee County Young Leaders board and the Opelika Chamber of Commerce recently presented the 2012-2013 class.

The Opelika Chamber of Commerce recognizes the importance of developing future leaders. With that in mind, the Chamber has implemented a Lee County Young Leaders program, similar to the Leadership Lee County program.

The purpose of Lee County Young Leaders (LCYL) is to bring together highly motivated student leaders from Lee County and provide them with innovative training. The hope is that these young adults will understand the importance of a community and will want to get involved at an earlier age.

The program will consist of monthly sessions from August through May during a regular school day. Modeled after Leadership Lee County, the varied sessions include team building, education, health and human services, economic development, public safety, local and state government and the judicial system.

Because the LCYL board and the chamber want this program available to all students who qualify, based on character and scholastics, there will not be a charge to the participant. Although participants will provide their own transportation to the chamber, a bus will take the students to the different session locations. The LCYL budget will include transportation, materials, supplies, printing, food, graduation gift, golf shirts and tuition cost for one credit to Southern Union State Community College.

If you would like to be a part of this endeavor by being a corporate sponsor, a session sponsor, or a child sponsor, please contact the Opelika Chamber of Commerce at (334) 745-4861.

The students selected are from Auburn High: Keanu Brackin, Victoria Fang, Mary Beth Iannzzi, Ciarra Kincey, Justin Smith; Beauregard High: Alexis Carr and Abria Grimmett; Beulah High: Allis Hamby and Ansleigh Yancey; Loachapoka High: Michael Braxton and Shemika Patterson; Opelika High: Kelcie Carpenter, Anna Lazenby, Marcus Marshall, Alyssa Patel and LaRaven Walton; Smiths Station High: Lane Bush, Reid Byrd, Karsten Hood, Mallory Mills and Shy’Keya Wimberly.