Contributed by Distinguished Young Women of Lee County

The Distinguished Young Woman of Lee County Program was held Nov. 7, 4:30 p.m., at Parkway Baptist Church. 

The 2021 winner was Mary Helen Miller from Lee-Scott  Academy. First runner up was Eleanor Wilson from Opelika High School and second runner up was Cara Herring from Auburn High School.

Category Winners included were:

Be Your Best Self Essay Winner:  Kendal Hull

Spirit Award Winner voted on by participants: Kendal Hull

Interview Winners:  Mari Miles Dempsey and Cara Herring

Scholastics Winners:  Mary Helen Miller and Eleanor Wilson

Talent Winners:  Mary Helen Miller and Eleanor Wilson

Fitness Winners:  Cara Herring and Mary Helen Miller

High school senior girls from across the county joined together to participate and compete for college scholarships as well as the opportunity to represent Lee County at the Alabama Distinguished Young Woman Program in January of 2021.

The nine young women competing were evaluated by a panel of five judges in the following categories: Scholastics (25%), Interview (25%), Talent (20%), Fitness (15%) and Self-Expression (15%).  Participants have been practicing and preparing each week at Nix Dance Studio with choreographer, Kasey Shepherd, for the group routines. Interview and talent workshops were held in October. 

All workshops and events focus on the “Be Your Best Self” program which includes: Be Healthy, Be Ambitious, Be Involved, Be Responsible, Be Studious. Special guests joining and sharing with the young women on the “Be Your Best Self Program” included Dominique Vermille, Alabama’s distinguished young woman,  and Ada Ruth Huntley, Auburn University’s SGA president. 

The Distinguished Young Women is a national scholarship program that inspires high school girls to develop their full, individual potential through a fun, transformative experience that culminates in a celebratory showcase of their accomplishments.