Tuberville Continues Push to Make Daylight Saving Time Permanent




U.S. Sen. Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) is continuing his push to make Daylight Saving Time (DST) permanent by joining U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL) in reintroducing the Sunshine Protection Act. U.S. Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL-16) introduced companion legislation in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The Alabama State Legislature passed a bill to permanently implement DST in 2021, but legislation must first be passed at the federal level in order for the state law to take effect. In 2022, the legislation passed the U.S. Senate by unanimous consent, but then-Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi refused to bring the legislation to the floor for a vote.

“Alabamians have overwhelmingly expressed their support for the Sunshine Protection Act, and I promised them I’d continue pushing to do away with the outdated practice of adjusting our clocks twice a year,” Tuberville said. “It’s time for America to move forward and stop falling back. Congress should listen to the people and make Daylight Saving Time permanent.”

 Joining Tuberville and Rubio in introducing the legislation are U.S. Sens. James Lankford (R-OK), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Ed Markey (D-MA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Tina Smith (R-MN), Rick Scott (R-FL), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Rand Paul (R-KY), Ron Wyden (R-OR) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM).


Last year, Tuberville joined the effort to make DST permanent after hearing from many farmers, educators, seniors and health professionals in Alabama about the positive impacts it would have. The U.S. Senate passed the Sunshine Protection Act on March 15, 2022, but the U.S. House of Representatives did not bring it up for a vote before the 117th Congress ended, requiring it to be reintroduced in the 118th Congress. Daylight Saving Time begins this year on Sunday, March 12, and lasts until Sunday, Nov. 5. 

 Tuberville represents Alabama in the United States Senate and is a member of the Senate Armed Services, Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs and HELP Committees.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here