Smiths Station City Council authorizes formation of Road Name Change Committee

Photos courtesy of City of Smiths Station Following the Smiths Station City Council’s July 14th meeting, City Council and Committee members posed for a picture with one of the signs that will be placed along Lee Road 430, which will soon be known as “Panther Parkway.” Pictured from left to right are: Planning & Zoning Administrator Lisa Deason, Place One Councilmember George Stringer, Citizen Volunteer Steve Henley, Place Five Councilmember Dick Key, Place Four Councilmember Richard Cooley, Place 2 Councilmember Morris Jackson, Mayor F.L. “Bubba” Copeland, Place Three Councilmember James Moody and Administrative Assistant/Assistant Communications Director Morgan Bryce. Not pictured are Executive Assistant Brenda Dockery and Smiths Station Postmaster Sharon Grover.

Courtesy of the
City of Smiths Station

The Smiths Station City Council approved a resolution authorizing the formation of a Road Name Change Committee during Tuesday’s meeting.

Committee members include Chairman Richard Cooley, Vice Chairman Morris Jackson, Planning & Zoning Administrator Lisa Deason, Executive Assistant Brenda Dockery, Assistant Communications Director Morgan Bryce and Citizen Volunteer Steve Henley.

The committee’s primary goal is to rename roads located within the city limits to their historical designations or names significant to Smiths Station. They will hold weekly meetings and work in tandem with local first responder agencies and the Post Office as the city moves forward with this initiative.

“This is an issue that our citizens and leadership have been interested in pursuing since incorporation, and we now have the resources in place to make this longtime dream a reality,” said Mayor F.L. “Bubba” Copeland. “I believe it will help promote a stronger community spirit among our residents and give us an even greater sense of identity as a city.”

In the coming weeks, a public forum will be scheduled for committee members and city officials to inform citizens on the status of this initiative and receive their input.

For more information, contact Mr. Cooley at 706-575-0642 or Mr. Jackson at 706-905-1247.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here