Lee County NAACP Branch #5038 install new officers


Contributed by Lee
County NAACP #5038

After its reactivation in July 2020, and elections in December 2020, the Lee County NAACP Branch #5038 has installed its officers. The officers took the oath to carry out the NAACP’s mission to ensure the political, educational, social and economic equality of rights and equal justice of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination.

At the branch’s March 25 general membership meeting, the officers (making up the Branch’s executive committee) took the oath as administered by Alabama State Conference President Benard Simelton. The officers consist of President Billy U. Allen, 1st Vice President, Latricia T. Khalif, 2nd Vice President Desmond Scott, Secretary Formecca Tripp, Assistant Secretary Irene Dowdell, Treasurer John Andrew Harris and Assistant Treasurer Jessica Bryant Cook. The Executive Committee also includes, Chairpersons of the Standing Committees, as stated in the NAACP’s Constitution and Article VIII, Sections 1b, 4c and 5c of the NAACP Bylaws for Units.

The branch has already established several priorities in serving the Lee County, Alabama community. One involves working with the Carver and Jeter neighborhoods in Opelika, for the purposes of better connecting the Carver and Jeter neighborhoods to the greater city of Opelika, and for establishing a compelling vision for the future of these neighborhoods. Another involves guaranteeing minority representation in Lee County, based on the latest U.S. Census of 2020.

President Allen expressed his gratitude to all individuals that assisted in obtaining the reinstatement status of Branch #5038 – “The overall goal is to make #5038 the best branch in the State of Alabama, in terms of equality, fairness and justice for all citizens in Lee County.” Further information about meetings and joining the branch will be published monthly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here